Reggae Nation

Reggae From Around The World. Catch the Vibes!

Boston, MA – For over 20 years, multi-talented Reggae artist, Mighty Mystic has masterfully managed to hold firm to his Jamaican roots while coining his own identifiable sound “HARD ROOTS’ by adding elements of Hip Hop and Rock to the Roots Reggae sound. Today he is proud to announce his 5th full length studio album Giant. The most musically diverse album Mystic has released to date! Giant is due out on March 18th and will be available everywhere you stream music. Download and save here:

“There is truly something for everyone on this album. If you love rock and roll there are two or three heavy rock influenced tracks waiting for you (“King me Now”). If you’re a fan of ballads you will enjoy “Michael”. Pop? Yeah we have that as well in “Giant” and “Nervous.” And off course we have the classic reggae in songs like “Goshen” and “Far from Jamaica”. All you have to do is open your mind and dive in – no swimsuit needed.” - Mighty Mystic

The new album came to fruition at the beginning of the COVID-19 pandemic in 2020, when Mighty Mystic was spending lots of time at home like the rest of the world. During this year of uncertainty, he spent his time rifling through old musings, notes and tape recordings filled with ideas and songs. He recalls, “​​While I didn’t write a single song about the pandemic, it certainly played a huge role in the fruition of the album.”
The album is 13 songs deep of Mystic’s HARD ROOTS sound that brings this multi-talented musician’s genre bending styles center stage. Included on the new album is the recently released hard-hitting single titled “Far From Jamaica” featuring Reggae icon Sizzla Kalonji and Tyler Loyal. “Far from Jamaica” is a catchy and relatable track. It is musically entertaining but with a message as the new song calls attention to a deeper conversation about Jamaicans living abroad working in harsh conditions to provide for their family back home in Jamaica. 

For Mighty Mystic, creating the new single was an opportunity to work with legendary Jamaican musicians. He recalls, “From when I was a kid growing up and listening to reggae music I’ve always been a fan of Sizzla. So, When I spoke to him about the idea of us doing a song together and him saying yes and actually doing it was truly a dream come true.  And on top of it the song came out even better than I had imagined. Actually you all should go check that one out “Far from Jamaica” with Sizzla and Tyler Loyal its fire.” The new single has seen over 50K and counting streams across all platforms! Listen here:
Another stand out is his single “King me Now,” released in late 2021. “King me Now” embraces the HARD ROOTS sound with Hard Rock, Dub, and Jam blended elements. “King me Now” was released with a music video ( that debuted with Reggaeville! Mystic comments, “It’s Epic! Infused with shredding style rock guitars reminiscent of 1980’s stadium hard rock.  The theme of this song is, even in the sight of failure or death, don't give up, keep fighting ‘cause kingship awaits.”

When it came time to name the album Mystic looked to the title track. “Giant” is a simple yet catchy track about Mystic’s mom, and a tribute to all single mothers in the world. Reflecting on the new album Mystic comments, “The story behind the title Giant is one that is near and dear to me. There is a song on the album which is also titled “Giant” and that song is a dedication to my mother.  The song is about a single mother raising her 3 children, working multiple jobs, sleeping very little and yet achieving huge or should I say “Giant” things with the cards she was dealt.  It’s something that has always inspired me and taught me never to give up.
Giant was recorded late 2020 through Spring of 2021. With the pandemic top of mind, Mighty Mystic had always planned to record the album remotely but found the real magic was made with the band in the room. They ultimately ended up recording at Maritime Music Studio in Peabody MA with Tim Phillips at the helm. Maritime has the state-of-the-art equipment needed for the new album and also the appropriate space for social distancing to work. Mystic comments, “It felt so good to be in the same space as my crew playing and creating music.”
Mystic’s vocals were recorded by Jared Hancock at Surefire Creative Studios in Lowell, MA.  And additional recording and tracking were done by Tim at Phillips Sound Studios.  This album marks the 2nd time Mystic has worked with the young and super talented Tim Phillips.
Mighty Mystic is a Globally respected and sought-after artist on the reggae scene. His brand of “HARD ROOTS” with his high energy stage performance has been a magnet for the enthusiastic reggae fan base. He has managed to hold firm to his Jamaican roots while adding elements of Hip Hop and Rock giving Mystic his own identifiable sound.  To date Mystic has released 4 top 10 charting albums (Wake up the World in 2010, Concrete World in 2014, The Art of Balance in 2016 & Enter the Mystic in 2019).  A dozen chart topping singles and thousands of radio plays! 
Since his early days of performing at school talent shows Mystic has gone on to tour and/or shared the stage with Ziggy Marley, Steel Pulse, Damian Marley, Buju Banton, Stephen Marley, Shaggy, SOJA, Toots and the Maytals, Collie Buddz, Sean Paul, Lee Scratch Perry, Barrington Levy, The Wailers, John Brownʼs Body, Luciano, Third World, Freddie McGregor, Capleton, Badfish, the Dirty Heads and the list goes on and on and on…with over 30 national tours and several international tours. Kicking off 2022 was the announcement of Mighty Mystic’s Hungry Lion tour! The winter tour  started in January with packed dates and picked up on March 16th in New York, circling around the New England states before heading straight west! Check out the full tour here.
Reflecting back on the new album Mystic says, “This is my 5th studio album in a 20-year career.  I’m going to enjoy this release and all it entails. Not going to rush to do the next one just focus on enjoying the days as they come. If it's one thing I’ve learned during this pandemic, life is precious and we are all blessed to be here so live a little, love a lot and enjoy life.”
Giant is out now, download and save here:
Giant Track Listing

  1. “King me Now”
  2. “Far from Jamaica” (feat. Sizzla & Tyler Loyal)
  3. “Goshen”
  4. “Giant”
  5. “Nervous”
  6. “Ready for a G”
  7. “Michael” (Piano Version)
  8. “Elevator”
  9. “Champion”
  10. “Satellites”
  11. “Dream” (feat. MediSun)
  12. “Shades of Grey”
  13. “Michael” (Remix)


Views: 279


You need to be a member of Reggae Nation to add comments!

Join Reggae Nation


Reggae Nation on Surf Roots TV

Check out the Reggae Nation playlist on Surf Roots TV! Featuring the hottest music videos from Jamaica and around the world. Download the Surf Roots TV App on Roku, Amazon Fire, Apple TV, iPhone & Android



© 2024   Created by Reggae Nation.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service